Wednesday, 5 October 2011

Deauville Partnership - The Group of Eight (G8) establishes a partnership to support the development of democratic institutions in the Arab countries

The Deauville Partnership has been established by the G8 countries in the Member States meeting of last May 2011. The purpose of this partnership, set in the Declaration, is to support the transition to democratic societies in those Arab countries where recent demonstrations have deposed the old regimes.
The Prime Ministers of Egypt and Tunisia, the first countries to join the partnership, participated to the meeting together with the Secretary General of the Arab League.

Last 10 September 2011, within the G8 countries finance ministers’ meeting, also Libya was invited to join the partnership. In the meanwhile a number of international and regional financial institutions have decided to join and contribute to this partnership. Among these, the African Development Bank, the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development, the Arab Monetary Fund, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the European Investment Bank, the Islamic Development Bank Group, the International Monetary Fund, the OPEC Fund for International Development and the World Bank.

Member States of the Group of Eight (G8)
Canada,  France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, United Kingdom and the United States of America

On 20 September 2011,  New York hold the G8 Foreign Affairs Ministers’ meeting where it was circulated a statement, outlining the importance to promote and strengthen the rule of law in the target countries of the partnership, namely: Egypt, Tunisia, Morocco, Jordan and Libya.

No comments:

Post a Comment